During the eighth inning of the first game of the Royals’ doubleheader against the Rays on Tuesday, Alcides Escobar went for a bunt and ended up popping the ball up so high that pitcher Everett Teaford decided that he could rush forward and catch the ball on the fly.
Unfortunately for Teaford, he was inches away from securing the out and the ball squirted out of his grasp and away from his converging teammates.
The near-collision allowed Escobar to reach second base and the play was ruled a hit instead of an error which is pretty understandable considering that the attempted catch by Teaford was by no means an easy one.

About Ryan Wong
Recent Posts
Justin Herbert remembers 2024 playoff embarrassment
"No one felt worse than I did after that game."
Philip Rivers not able to do enough in impressive showing
"I'm torn on how to express it."
Lions not blaming refs after crucial loss
"And at the end of the day, that's on us."
Caleb Williams shines in OT thriller
"I knew it was good."
Giannis Antetokounmpo focused on current teammates, health
"I'm still locked in."
Puka Nacua apologizes: ‘I had no idea’
"I deeply apologize to anyone who was offended."