There is a storm a-brewin’ Mr. Wayne! So here is the deal. Bang With Friends is an app which recently launched and it is an app which says that it is untraceable, but apparently it is now. In fact the app says the following before you sign up:
The anonymous, simple, fun way to find
friends who are down for the night.
Your friends will never know you’re interested unless they are too!
(Completely private & discreet until both friends are down to bang!)
Welp, thanks to a hacker and a big mistake you can now see which of your dirty friends are using the service, or at least downloaded it.
We take privacy very seriously at Bang With Friends and the vast majority of users will not show up in such a search. If you installed the app after January, you won’t show up (unless you manually changed your privacy setting).
We launched right before Facebook’s Graph Search functionality opened up to a wider audience. For the first few days after we launched, the default setting in Facebook when a user installed our app was set to the user’s default setting for all apps. For many users, that was “Public” or “Friends.”
We quickly adjusted this (back in January) once we realized that Graph Search did this. After we discovered this issue, we made the default for our app “Only Me.”
Any user who installed our app after January should have seen that default setting and will not show up in Graph Search (nor the link you provided in the article). For any users who do show up, you have full control over this in your Facebook settings as you mentioned.