MLB, Sports

Umpire Loses Count, Punches Out Batter On Second Strike

Umpires have long and mostly thankless jobs at the end of the day, and they should be afforded a mistake or two. Paul Emmel made his mistake during the fifth inning of the Indians and Royals game on Monday night. Emmel punched out batter Lonnie Chisenhall on his second strike from Royals pitcher Luke Hochevar, however due to those pesky MLB rules the batter was not actually out. The Royals were fine with the wrong call and even started walking off the field, but Chisenhall stood firm and held his ground. Eventually the mess was sorted and Chisenhall continued his at-bat.