EA SPORTS announced today, via their NCAA Football Facebook page that former Baylor quarterback Robert Griffin III will be the 2013 cover athlete for NCAA Football.

The decision was based on a fan vote.

Also, beginning on March 12, fans can log on to the NCAA Football facebook page and vote for one of eight Heisman Trophy winners to join Griffin III on the cover.

The candidates include: Former Houston quarterback Andre Ware, former Southern California running back Marcus Allen, former Boston College quarterback Doug Flutie, former Ohio State running back Eddie George, former Michigan wide receiver Desmond Howard, former Oklahoma State running back Barry Sanders, former Georgia running back Herschel Walker and former Florida State quarterback Charlie Ward.

via Houston Chronicle