It’s tough for a game to end any worse than it did for the Blue Jays against the Rays on Tuesday night.
Edwin Encarnacion stepped up to the plate in the ninth inning with the bases loaded and one out, and he hit a grounder to Evan Longoria at third. Longoria threw to second and got the out there, but Logan Forsythe’s errant throw to first allowed the Blue Jays to take a 4-3 lead.
That lead didn’t last long, however, as the runs weren’t counted and it ended up being considered a game-ending double-play. The umpires ruled Jose Bautista’s slide into second base a violation of Rule 6.01, which is as follows:
“If a runner does not engage in a bona fide slide, and initiates (or attempts to make) contact with the fielder for the purpose of breaking up a double play, he should be called for interference under Rule 6.01. A ‘bona fide slide’ for purposes of Rule 6.01 occurs when the runner: (1) begins his slide (i.e., makes contact with the ground) before reaching the base; (2) is able and attempts to reach the base with his hand or foot; (3) is able and attempts to remain on the base (except home plate) after completion of the slide; and (4) slides within reach of the base without changing his pathway for the purpose of initiating contact with the fielder.”
Here’s the video of the incident:
Blue Jays manager John Gibbons had some choice words for the ruling:
“I guess we’ll come out wearing dresses tomorrow,” he told reporters according to USA TODAY SPORTS. “Maybe that’s what everybody’s looking for. … That cost us a chance to win a major league game. You’re going to end a game like that?”
Bautista did “technically” violate the rule by sticking his arm out, but it definitely didn’t appear to be anything close to dangerous. This seems like a rule that will piss plenty of teams off in the future.