Duncan Keith was understandably disappointed by the Blackhawks 3-1 loss to the Vancouver Canucks last night. Just before the third Canucks goal, Keith slashed the back of Daniel Sedin, a penalty that wasn’t called presumably because Sedin scored on the play.

Karen Thomson, a female reporter for Team 1040 in Vancouver asked Keith about the unpenalized slash, clearly striking a nerve with him and causing him to make some questionable comments:

The Chicago Tribune has the full audio.

Thomson: “It looked like maybe there was a penalty that went undetected. You seemed a bit frustrated.”

Keith: “Oh, no. I don’t think there was anything. I think he scored a nice goal. The ref was right there. That’s what the ref saw. We should get you as a ref maybe, eh?”

Thomson: “Yeah, maybe.”

Keith: The first female … ”

Thomson: “I can’t skate, though.”

Keith: “The first female referee. You can’t play probably either, right?  But you’re thinking the game like you know it? Okay, see ya.”

Seems like Keith should think before he opens his mouth next time. And for the record, my 10 month-old niece could tell you that’s a penalty. The only reason it wasn’t called is because Sedin scored the goal. It would have been a delayed call on Keith that the goal wiped away.

[Puck Daddy]