Every year there are All-American teams announced by a host of organizations with the teams produced by the Associated Press, American Football Coaches Association, Football Writers Association of America, Walter Camp Foundation, and The Sporting News being recognized by the NCAA for official record keeping.  A player is an All-American if he makes one team, a consensus All-American if he makes three, but to be a unanimous All-American he has to make all five groups listing.  With today’s release of The Sporting News’ All-Americans we now know who the 2010 unanimous All-Americans are.  Here’s the list, led by Heisman finalist LaMichael James:

  • LaMichael James, RB, Oregon
  • Justin Blackmon, WR, Oklahoma State
  • Gabe Carimi, T, Wisconsin
  • Rodney Hudson, G, Florida State
  • Da’Quan Bowers, DE, Clemson
  • Ryan Kerrigan, DE, Purdue
  • Luke Kuechly, DE, Boston College
  • Greg Jones, LB, Michigan State
  • Patrick Peterson, CB, LSU
  • Prince Amukamara, CB, Nebraska

See anyone missing?  Here’s a hint: he won the Heisman Trophy.  That’s right, Cam Newton did not make the list.  The FWAA selected Kellen Moore of Boise State as their All-American QB instead of Cam.  Newton joins of Sam Bradford, Tim Tebow, Matt Leinart, Carson Palmer, Eric Crouch and Chris Weinke as Heisman winners not honored with unanimous All-American status.   Hard to say what that means about Newton’s future prospects and both Heisman winners and All-Americans run the gamut from superstar to bust when they get to the NFL.

Get a sense for whose company the ten impressive players not named Cam Newton who made it onto this years true All-American will be in with the complete list of unanimous All-Americans since 2000 after the jump.


Colt McCoy, QB, texas

Toby Gerhart, RB, Stanford

Mark Ingram, RB, Alabama

Golden Tate, WR, Notre Dame

Russell Okung, OT, Oklahoma State

Jerry Hughes, DE, Texas Christian

Ndamukong Suh, DT, Nebraska

Rolando McCain, LB, Alabama

Joe Haden, CB, Forida

Eric Berry, S, Tennessee (two-time selection)

Drew Butler, P, Georgia


Shonn Greene, RB, Iowa

Michael Crabtree, WR, Texas Tech (two-time selection)

Andre Smith, T, Alabama

Michael Oher, T, Ole Miss

Brian Orakpo, DE, Texas

Ray Maualuga, LB, USC

Brandon Spikes, LB, Florida

Eric Berry, S, Tennessee

Louie Sakoda, K, Utah


Darren McFadden, RB, Arkansas (two-time selection)

Michael Crabtree, WR, Texas Tech

Jake Long, T, Michigan

Chris Long, DE, Virginia

Glenn Dorsey, DT, LSU

Sedrick Ellis, DT, USC

James Laurinaitis, LB, Ohio State

Aqib Talib, CB, Kansas


Troy Smith, QB, Ohio State

Darren McFadden, RB, Arkansas

Steve Slaton, RB, West Virginia

Calvin Johnson, WR, Georgia Tech

Joe Thomas, T, Wisconsin

Justin Blalock, T, Texas

Dan Mozes, C, West Virginia

Gaines Adams, DE, Clemson

Lamarr Woodley, DE, Michigan

Daniel Sepulveda, P, Baylor


Reggie Bush, RB, USC

Dwayne Jarrett, WR, USC

Jonathan Scott, T, Texas

Greg Eslinger, C, Minnesota

Tamba Hali, DE, Penn State

Elvis Dumervil, DE, Louisville

A.J. Hawk, LB, Ohio State

DeMeco Ryans, LB, Alabama

Jimmy Williams, CB, Virginia Tech

Michael Huff, S, Texas

Ryan Plackemeier, P, Wake Forest

Maurice Jones-Drew, RB/KR, UCLA (Note – On all 5 teams but at different positions)


Adrian Peterson, RB, Oklahoma

Braylon Edwards, WR, Michigan

Heath Miller, TE, Virginia

Jammal Brown, T, Oklahoma

Alex Barron, T, Florida State

Derrick Johnson, LB, Texas

Antrel Rolle, S, Miami

Mike Nugent, K, Ohio State


Jason White, QB, Oklahoma

Larry Fitzgerald, WR, Pittsburgh

Kellen Winslow Jr., TE, Miami

Shawn Andrews, T, Arkansas

Robert Gallery, T, Iowa

Jake Grove, C, Virginia

Dave Ball, DE, UCLA

Tommie Harris, T, Oklahoma

Teddy Lehman, LB, Oklahoma

Derrick Strait, CB, Oklahoma

Sean Taylor, S, Miami


Larry Johnson, RB, Penn State

Charles Rogers, WR, Michigan State

Dallas Clark, TE, Iowa

Terrell Suggs, DE, Arizona State

Shane Walton, CB, Notre Dame

Terence Newman, CB, Kansas State

Mike Doss, S, Ohio State


Luke Staley, RB, BYU

Daniel Graham, TE, Colorado

Bryant McKinnie, T, Miami

LeCharles Bentley, C, Ohio State

Dwight Freeney, DE, Syracuse

Julius Peppers, DE, North Carolina

John Henderson, T, Tennessee

Rocky Calmus, LB, Oklahoma (two-time selection)

Quentin Jammer, CB, Texas

Roy Williams, S, Oklahoma

Ed Reed, S, Miami


LaDainian Tomlinson, RB, Texas Christian

Brian Natkin, TE, UTEP

Jamal Reynolds, DE, Florida State

Andre Carter, DE, California

Rocky Calmus, LB, Oklahoma

Dan Morgan, LB, Miami

Santana Moss, KR/WR, Miami (Note – On all 5 teams but at different positions)